Heterotopia for sale

When I first moved to New York I remembered being very intrigued by the lack of burial grounds in the Manhattan area, latter I learned that it was for economical and practical reasons that the death are buried outside the city. But somehow Foucault’s notion of Heterotopias echoed in the back of this disposition, the dead are send outside the city.

Trying to find out about some cemeteries in New York I found this article about trying to sell Canarise Cemetery in Brooklyn, which I thought was rather interesting because it illustrates, what I believe to be a very unusual policy and unprofitable notion towards cemeteries, which I did not know existed.

For Sale by Owner: 13 Acres. All 6,500 Tenants to Remain.

Gala Lutteroth

No comments yet»

Reply

